Online Poll

How do you evaluate the ease of using the Portal and its e-services?

History of Ras Al Khaimah

The Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah is a cradle for the ancient civilization. It has an impressive archaeological heritage and rich cultural history. National Museum of Ras Al Khaimah has many monuments dating back thousands of years ago. The archeological finds show that the ancient history of Ras Al Khaimah passed through many important periods:

Ubaid Period (5000 - 3800 BC)

This is the oldest era known so far in the history of Ras Al Khaimah. Not far from Al Jazeerah Al Hamra, huge ruins of structures and external roofs in addition to some pottery remains have been discovered. The pottery remains resembled pottery and earthenware pots found in Mesopotamia in the same period. These ruins and pottery remains are indicative of the early human activities in this area.

Hafeet Period (3200 - 2600 BC)

This era was known for its ruins of graves and burial grounds which were built on high mountains. They were made of local stone and shaped like beehives. Each grave consisted of one or two small rooms. These were discovered in the areas of Khatt, Wadi al-Bih as well as in Wadi al-Qarw.

Umm al-Nar Civilization (2600 - 2000 BC)

The Umm al- Nar Civilization existed in the middle of the third millennium BC. The period is well known for its round graves whose external walls were built of smooth engraved and polished stones. Evidence suggests that trade between Mesopotamia and the Valley of Indus (south-east of Iran) flourished during the period, which was well known as Majan.

Wadi Suq Culture Period (2000 - 1600 BC)

Many graves were discovered in Ghaleelah, Al Qirm, Al Rams, Qarn Al Harf, Khatt and Athan. Most of the Wadi Suq graves were huge and were built above the ground. Their foundations were built of limestone. The personal belongings and remnants found in these graves are at present on display in the Ras Al Khaimah National Museum.

Iron Age (1250 - 300 BC)

The Iron Age here is best known from finds from the southern part of Ras Al Khaimah, especially in Wadi Alkor, Wadi Muna'i, Fashkha, and Wa'ab, where a number of graves were discovered. Some of them were oblong with four rooms, others were shaped like a horseshoe and some others were circular in shape discovered in Naslah. One of the most significant discoveries was a stone with the drawing of a phoenix engraved on it. The drawing of this imaginary bird resembled those painted in Assyrian palaces in Northern Iraq.

The Hellenic and Parthian Era (300 BC -300 AD)

The later pre-Islamic time, the Hellenic and Parthian Period, is evident in the northern and southern parts of Ras Al Khaimah. Survey projects have led to the discovery of some historical sites in the northern and southern districts of Ras Al Khaimah. These sites include individual tombs and reused old graves found in Shamal, Asimah, Wa'ab and Wadi Muna'i.

The Sasanian Occupation Era (300 AD - 632 AD)

A team of archaeologists have founded a small site on the island of Hulaylah that was occupied during the Sasanian Period. Recently two other sites were found in Khatt. The most significant discovery of this era during the three-phase exploration campaign was a Sasanian citadel. It was built mainly to have full control over the fertile plains in the north of Ras Al Khaimah. This monument was evacuated when Islam was adopted in the UAE area.

The Abbasids Era (750 - 1'250 AD)

There are two areas in Ras Al Khaimah which helped it to play a great role as a bustling trade route in the early Islamic Era. One of these places was Al Khoush which was a castle abandoned by the Sassans during the Islamic expansion in this area. The second place is situated in the Island of Hulaylah. It was a structure made of palm leaves. Both the sites were known as a part of Julfar, which was an old town well known to Muslim travellers and geographers, such as Al Maqdisi in the 10th century, and Al Idrisy in the 12th century. Some Abbasid pottery and Chinese porcelain pots imported from Iraq and elsewhere were found in these two areas. The antiquities show us how far people of Julfar were deeply interested and involved in trade at that time.

The Later Islamic Era (14th - 19th century)

In the middle of the fourteenth century, Kush and the Island of Hulaylah were deserted. People began to settle on sandy beaches near the coast. This area was called Julfar. It was discovered by the famous archaeologist Piatris in 1968. Many archaeological expeditions were delegated to the area. They all showed that Julfar was a vast populated area from the fourteenth up to the seventeenth century. Julfar was famous for its vast and flourishing trade with distant areas. The finds of porcelain and pottery from here were imported from Arab and European countries.

استطلاع الرأي

كيف تقيم مدى سهولة استخدام البوابة وخدماتها الإلكترونية؟

تاريخ رأس الخيمة

تعد إمارة رأس الخيمة مهداً للحضارة القديمة، ومقراً للعديد من المستوطنات البشرية قديماً. ويضم متحف رأس الخيمة الوطني العديد من الآثار التي تعود إلى آلاف السنين قبل الميلاد. تدل جميع المكتشفات الأثرية على أن تاريخ الإمارة القدم مر بعده فترات أهمها:

فترة العبيد (5000- 3800 ق.م)

وهي أقدم فترة عرفت في رأس الخيمة بالقرب من الجزيرة الحمراء حيث عثر على ركام ضخم من الهياكل ومجموعة من الفخاريات مشابهة لتلك الموجودة في بلاد ما بين النهرين وفي الفترة نفسها مما يدل على وجود اتصال تجاري مباشر في ما بينها.

فترة حفيت ( 3200- 2600 ق.م)

من أشهر ما يميز هذه الفترة وجود ركام لقبور بنيت على جبال شاهقة الارتفاع، مصنوعة من الحجر المحلي وقد كانت في الأصل على هيئة خلية نحل مكونة من حجرة صغيرة أو حجرتين من كل قبر عثر عليها في منطقة خت، وودادي البيح ووادي القور.

فترة حضارة أم النار (2600-2000 ق.م)

ظهرت حضارة أم النار في أواسط الألفية الثالثة قبل الميلاد وهي معروفة بقبورها المستديرة، حيث كانت الجدران الخارجية مبنية من أحجار منحوتة ومصقولة بشكل ناعم. هناك أدلة بأن التجارة بين بلاد ما بين النهرين ووادي اندس (جنوب شرق إيران) جعلت من رأس الخيمة غنية خلال هذه الفترة وكانت تذكر باسم ماجان.

فترة وادي سوق (2000- 1600 ق.م)

وجدت عدة مقابر في "غليلة"، و"القرم"، و"الرمس"، و"قرن الحرف"، وفي "خت" و"أذن". معظم قبور وادي سوق كانت ضخمة وفوق الأرض أما الأساس فقد بني من الحجر الجيري، وتعرض المقتنيات التي وجدت في هذه القبور في متحف رأس الخيمة الوطني.

العصر الحديدي ( 1250-300 ق.م)

عُرف العصر الحديدي في الجزء الجنوبي لرأس الخيمة وبالأخص في وادي القور، وادي المنيعي، فشخة ووعب حيث اكتشفت عدة قبور منها القبور المستطيلة بأربعة غرف وقبر على شكل حذوة حصان وقبر دائري في "نصله". كما تم اكتشاف حجر منقوش عليه عنقاء مشابهة للعنقاوات الكبيرة الموجودة في القصور الآشورية في شمال العراق.

الفترة الهيلينية والفارسية (300 ق.م-300م)

وجدت في الجزء الشمالي والجنوبي للإمارة عدة مواقع عبارة عن مدافن فردية وإعادة استعمال لقبور قديمة عثر عليها في منطقة شمل، اعسمة، وعب، ووداي المنيعي.

 

فترة الاحتلال الساساني (300م-632م)

عثرت بعثة الآثار على موقع صغير في جزيرة حليله وكذلك على موقعين في خت أما أهم ما اكتشف أثناء هذه الفترة موقع على شكل قلعة ساسانية بنيت للتحكم بالسهول الخصبة في الجزء الشمالي للإمارة والتي تركت من قبل المحتل إبان دخول الإسلام منطقة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

الفترة العباسية (750-1250م)

يوجد موقعان جعلا من رأس الخيمة أكثر أهمية في معرفة طرق التجارة والبضائع في القرون الإسلامية الأولى. هذا الموقعان هما الكوش ومباني في جزيرة حليله صنعت من سعف النخيل (العريش). الموقعان ضمن منطقة جلفار وهي مدينة قديمة معروفة للرحالة والجغرافيين المسلمين مثل المقدسي في القرن العاشر والإدريسي في القرن الثاني عشر. عُثر في الموقعين على الخزف الصيني والفخاريات العباسية المستوردة من العراق ومناطق أخرى تبين مدى اهتمام أهل جلفار بالتجارة بشكل كبير.

الفترة الإسلامية اللاحقة (القرن الرابع عشر-التاسع عشر)

في منتصف القرن الرابع عشر هُجرت الكوش و جزيرة حليله واستقر الناس على الشاطئ الرملي أمام الساحل . سميت هذه المنطقة بجلفار واكتشفت من قبل عالم الآثار بياترس دي كاردي في سنة 1968 وقد توافدت على المنطقة عدة بعثات للآثار حيث برهن الجميع بأن جلفار كانت منطقة كبيرة ومأهولة بالسكان مابين القرن الرابع عشر و حتى السابع عشر، عرفت جلفار بتجارتها الواسعة والمزدهرة وذلك لما عثر عليه فيها من كميات كبيرة من الخزف الصيني المستورد والأواني الفخارية ذات المصادر العربية والأوروبية.